The Research Group

Siri Fjellheim
Professor & Principal Investigator
Botanist Geneticist Mentor Motivator Facilitator
Marian Schubert
As an evolutionary biologist I am generally interested in the molecular evolution of adaptive traits. Currently I am studying how Pooideae grasses adapted to the conditions in temperate environments.
Ursula Brandes
PhD Candidate

I am studying the genetic and ecological aspects of an intra-continental plant invasion of Cytisus scoparius.

Camilla Lorange Lindberg
PhD Candidate
I study the evolution of cold acclimation and its role in the successful adaptation of the grass subfamily Pooideae. Did the grasses evolve the possibility to accumulate fructan as a response to cold?
Martin Paliocha
PhD Candidate

How, why, and when do complex physiological traits evolve in plants? I try to find answers to these questions by studying the evolution of photoperiod-mediated flowering in temperate grasses.

Tesfakiros Semere Gebrelibanos
PhD Candidate

Together with Ola T. Westengen, I study the genetic structure and ethnobotany of Sorghum landraces in the State of Tigray, Ethiopia.

Darshan Anthony Young
Research Assistant

Members of the CONSTANS gene family are key components in photoperiod-mediated flowering. In my MSc Project I investigated the evolution of CONSTANS genes in Pooideae using a proteomic approach.

Sylvia Pal Stolsmo
MSc Student
Ane Charlotte Hjertaas
BSc Student
Rebekka Eriksen Ween
BSc Student
Mika Helene Kirkhus
BSc Student
Martine Molland
BSc Student


Erica Helen Leder

2016 – 2018

Thomas Marcussen

2015 – 2017

Lars Grønvold
PhD Candidate

w/ Torgeir Rhodén Hvidsten

2013 – 2017

Beate Beatriz Furevik
MSc Student
Murat Bağcıoğlu
PhD Candidate

w/ Achim Kohler

2012 – 2016

Torbjørn Horsberg Kornstad
MSc Student
Nina Zoric
MSc Student
Nadine Hofman
MSc Student
Anna Monika Lewandowska-Sabat
PhD Candidate

w/ Odd Arne Rognli

2006 – 2009